TREK Magic Once Again!

Wow, it’s been quite some time since I last blogged.  Probably because I’ve been busy jumping from filming of Starship Farragut’s THE PRICE OF ANYTHING exterior shoots in LA, to supporting wardrobe of the new Dracogen and Farragut Films’ webseries, STAR TREK CONTINUES (STC), to then filming STC two weekends ago.

Speaking of wardrobe, special thanks to ANOVOS for the Starfleet uniforms.  Because of their involvement, I only needed to tailor the uniforms to the respective actors and create Trek pants, as well as an additional tunic for Vic Mignogna.  Vic and I are most grateful for our ANOVOS partnership.  Although a small level of effort for wardrobe, it did seem challenging given real life commitments.  I’d be remissed if I did not also acknowledge and thank my friend Pavlina for developing the pattern and constructing a key outfit from a TOS episode; as well as thanking Lizzy Shram for her work on the orange jumpsuit and other sewing support.  It feels great to finally get ‘down-to-earth’ folks who have strong interpersonal skills and talent beyond just sewing a straight line.  Actually, both are “master” costumers as I became to understand; blessed to have their involvement.

With THE PRICE OF ANYTHING slated for release this August, folks have posted on our Starship Farragut Facebook page, asking what’s next?  Well, we’re officially in pre-production of our next Farragut adventure.  The group reviewed numerous scripts and we ultimately chose the screenplay, CONSPIRACY OF INNOCENCE written by Bobby Nash.

Bobby Nash Watching Rough-cut of “The Price of Anything” at TREK TRAX

Bobby has written a plethora of novels and scripts – you can check him out at www.bobbynash.com.  Producer Jack Marshall is currently reviewing and annotating the script; from there collective weigh-in from the other stakeholders, which will then provide back to Bobby for final incorporation.  We will film CONSPIRACY OF INNOCENCE immediately following the STC full episode this fall.

Also, I should point out that Mark Hildebrand will be filming his Starship Farragut vignette, NIGHT SHIFT during Veteran’s Day weekend.  Mark wrote the screenplay a couple of years ago, but has been busy with non-TREK films, such as ANTHEM, which tells the story behind Francis Scott Key’s creation of “The Star-Spangled Banner” and explores the role of music and patriotism during The War of 1812.  A long-time Farraguteer – we’re glad to have Mark doing some TREK work again!

The last time we hung out with Mark, we showed him a rough cut of THE PRICE OF ANYTHING.  He was most impressed. I shared with him my thoughts on how great the filming went and how it took me seven years “to get it.”  On that point, he reminded me that I needed to relay to folks that I will be continuing the role of CAPT Carter.

The last time I blogged, I shared how I was stepping down – filming at the OCT film shoot was bitter sweet as I finally able to enjoy the acting aspect, but had already committed to stepping down.  While formulating ideas how the Carter character could reprise a role in the next Farragut adventure outside of being the Captain, Mike and Holly Bednar conferred with me about staying on and “keeping things the way they were.”  I don’t think that they will truly know how much that meant to me.  I’m optimistic that when folks see THE PRICE OF ANYTHING, they will finally see the Carter character as I envisioned him.  Much of the success of this film goes to all the hardworking individuals, including key crew folks such as Vic Mignogna, Matt Bucy, Jack Marshall, Kasey Shafsky, Michael Struck, Ralph Miller and of course our dedicated set construction crew — Royal Weaver,Greg Greene, Dan Scanlan, Sam Rooks, Ron Simkanich, Frank Parker, Katrina Parsons, Cera Weaver, Scotty Whitehurst, Stacy Walker, Jeff Johnson, Bruce Boyd, and Carl Mazur .  Last – but not least, thanks to Paul Sieber for writing the script.

Staying Aboard Farragut

Could the magic that we shared during the OCT and DEC film shoots for Starship Farragut be replicated for the STAR TREK CONTINUES shoot?  The answer is AFFIRMATIVE!  With memories fresh from filming a few weeks ago, I can tell you that folks were equally committed to both webseries and we were able to film amazing things on schedule and have fun without drama or strife.

I’ve been a steadfast critic of staying clear of doing a fan film based on the iconic characters of Kirk, Spock and McCoy.  Our Starship Farragut webseries is fundamentally different, showcasing the crew of a different starship than the one named Enterprise.  However, having witnessed the filming of the STC shoot, I can tell you that I was blown away.  Not only are we working with professionals, but each actor had embodied the essence of their respective character, which translated well on film.

Vic and the others have spent the necessary time and effort to portray our legendary space heroes and have done justice by them.  If I may share a geek-out moment – there was a moment when the entire cast was on the bridge in uniform filming a scene that caused the hairs on my arms to stand straight up.  I was standing near Jack Marshall who had his back to me watching the monitor – when he yelled, “Cut!” – I immediately was going to tell him about what transpired and called his name.  When he turned around, his eyes were glossy and he said, “Did you feel that?”  I replied, “Yeah!”  We both concluded that it was like witnessing Star Trek being filmed almost 50 years ago on the Paramountlot.  A truly surreal moment…

Cast of Star Trek Continues

Even though this was our first STC shoot, there was a genuine camaraderie of the cast and crew.  I’m extremely optimistic about the continuing voyages of this enterprising adventure…

Grant Imahara, Greg Greene, Chris Doohan and Mike Bednar

Having a Blast – Jack Marshall

Kasey Shafsky, Scotty Whitehurst and Matt Bucy

I’ll wrap up simply stating “Thanks” to all the cast and crew of Starship Farragut and Star Trek Continues.  We are truly and boldy going where no one has gone before.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “TREK Magic Once Again!”

  1. Mark Says:

    Check these guys out!!

    trekmodeler.com/
    http://www.youtube.com/trekmodeler

Leave a comment